• 17

A total of 66 recipients comprising University of Malaya (UM) staff, students, research centres as well as corporate partners received recognitions at the annual Anugerah Cemerlang Universiti Malaya on 17 December 2018 at Dewan Tunku Canselor. 

The Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah (UM Chancellor), Toh Puan Dato’ Seri Hajjah Aishah Ong and Tan Sri Dato’ Seri DiRaja Ramli Ngah Talib (UM Pro-Chancellors) as well as Tengku Datuk Dr. Mohd Azzman Shariffadeen Tengku (Chairman, UM Board of Directors) presented awards for 27 main categories and 2 special award categories.

This year, the top award, University of Malaya Eminent Scholar went to Dato’ Professor Dr. Awg Bulgiba Awg Mahmud from the Faculty of Medicine for his continuous contribution in developing new knowledge and fulfilling the University’s aspiration to improve the quality of life for the society.

UM also expressed gratitude to the corporate bodies which have joined in partnership in research and human capital development. Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation Sdn. Bhd. and OSRAM Opto Semiconductors (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd were both named the Corporate Partner (Research) while Daikin Malaysia Sdn. Bhd. was recognised as the Corporate Partner (Human Capital Development). 

The Anugerah Cemerlang Universiti Malaya honours and gives due recognition to excellent accomplishments and the individuals who achieved them. Through this award, the winners are acknowledged and celebrated for their contributions towards making the University a leader in research, innovation, publication and teaching. 

The list of award recipients can be viewed in link HERE



Viewed : 2920 Last Update: December 16, 2018